Nancy wrote 28 books between 1963 and 2013. Please contact Nancy's trustee at info@NancyWood.com to discuss republishing any of her books or to obtain rights or permission to use any of her work.

Currently in Print

  • We Became as Mountains, Sherman Asher Press, 2008
  • Sacred Fire, Doubleday, 1998
  • Shaman's Circle, Doubleday, 1996
  • Dancing Moons, Doubleday, 1995
  • Spirit Walker, Doubleday, 1993
  • War Cry on a Prayer Feather: Prose and Poetry of the Ute Indians, Doubleday, 1979
  • Many Winters: Poetry and Prose of the Pueblos, Doubleday 1974 and 1992 (also published in English, Korean, and Japanese)
  • Hollering Sun, Simon and Schuster, 1972

  • Eye of the West, University of New Mexico Press, 2007
  • Taos Pueblo, Knopf, 1989
  • Heartland New Mexico: Photographs from the FSA 1935-1943, University of New Mexico Press, 1989
  • When Buffalo Free the Mountains: A Ute Indian Story, Doubleday, 1980
  • The Grass Roots People: An American Requiem, Harper and Row, 1978
  • In This Proud Land: America 1935-43, as Seen in the FSA Photographs, with Roy Stryker, New York Graphic Society, 1974
  • Clearcut: The Deforestation of America, Sierra Club, 1972
  • Colorado: Big Mountain Country, with photographs by Myron Wood, Doubleday, 1969
  • Central City: A Ballad of the West, with photographs by Myron Wood, Chaparral Press, 1963

  • The Serpent's Tongue: Prose, Poetry and Art of the New Mexico Pueblos, Dutton, 1997

  • The Soledad Crucifixion, UNM Press, 2012
  • Thunderwoman, Dutton, 1999
  • The Man Who Gave Thunder to the Earth: A Taos Way of Seeing and Understanding, Doubleday, 1976
  • The King of LibertyBend, Harper and Row, 1976 (Published in English and Swedish)
  • The Last Five Dollar Baby, Harper and Row, 1972

Children's Fiction
  • Old Coyote, Candlewick Press, 2006
  • Mr. and Mrs. God in the Creation Kitchen, Candlewick Press, 2006
  • How the Tiny People Grew Tall: An Original Creation Tale, Candlewick Press, 2005
  • The Girl Who Loved Coyotes: Stories of the Southwest, HarperCollins, 1995
  • Little Wrangler, Doubleday, 1966

Cover Gallery


Back to Top